Garden of Devotion



Garden of Devotion

Lisa Larsson

Challenge Classics | HQ|NORTHSTAR


About the Album

Rolf Martinsson is one of Sweden’s internationally leading composers. In this CD five works are gathered.
One work is for soprano and string orchestra: Garden of Devotion is a collection of poems by Rabindranath Tagore set to music by Martinsson in 2013.

In To the Shadow of Reality, the soprano is istead accompanied by string quartet in these five songs with lyrics by Swedish poetess Karin Boye.

A.S. in memoriam is a piece for string orchestra. Composed in 1999; it is a homage to Arnold Schoenberg.
A piece called Landscape for solo violin is dated 2010 and takes its inspiration from The Strand, a painting by Edvard Munch.
The disc closes with a work for chamber orchestra, Kalliope, composed in 2004.


  1. Op. 97 Trust Love
  2. Op. 97 Do Not Keep
  3. Op. 97 Do No Go
  4. Op. 97 My Heart
  5. Op. 97 Lest I Should Know
  6. Op. 50a A.S. in Memoriam
  7. Op. 96 Morgon
  8. Op. 96 Hur kan jag saga
  9. Op. 96 Fran en stygg flicka
  10. Op. 96 Du ar min renaste trost
  11. Op. 96 I rorelse
  12. Op. 84 Landscape
  13. Op. 66 Calliope Intrada
  14. Op. 66 Urania
  15. Op. 66 Terpsichore
  16. Op. 66 Euterpe
  17. Op. 66 Polyhymnia
  18. Op. 66 Melpomene
  19. Op. 66 Klio
  20. Op. 66 Erato
  21. Op. 66 Thalia



Additional information


Larsson, Lisa


Modern (> 1920 A.D.)


Challenge Classics


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Garden of Devotion”
SKU: cc72754-1 Category: