Mendelssohn: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 | Rondo Brillant | Ouverture “Die Hebriden” (Download)


 16,95 33,95

Piano Concertos 1 & 2 | Rondo Brillant | Ouverture “Die Hebriden”

Roberto Prosseda | Residentie Orkest The Hague | Jan Willem de Vriend


Quality 352.8 kHz / 24 bit 192 kHz / 24 bit 96 kHz / 24 bit 44.1 kHz / 24 bit DSD256 DSD128 DSD64
Channels Combi 5.1 Surround Stereo
Clear selection


About the Album

Mendelssohn was just 22 when he wrote his G minor Piano Concerto. Even at that age, he was no novice in the genre, having composed three earlier piano concertos: one in A minor for piano and strings and two (in E major and A flat) for two pianos and orchestra. The G minor Concerto, however, is designated No. 1. It was written for (and dedicated to) the piano prodigy Delphine von Schauroth (1814–1887).

Though ‘a thing quickly thrown off’, as Mendelssohn described it to his father, this ‘fourth’ concerto for his own instrument is highly experimental in contracting three movements into one, dispensing with any long orchestral exposition of the themes, using fanfares between movements to connect them, largely eschewing virtuoso self-display and omitting any cadenzas.


  1. Molto Allegro con fuoco_No. 1_G Minor_Op. 25_MWV 07
  2. Andante_No. 1_G Minor_Op. 25_MWV 07
  3. Presto_No. 1_G Minor_Op. 25_MWV 07
  4. Allegro appassionato_No. 2_D Minor_Op. 40_MWV 011
  5. Adagio Molto sostenuto_No. 2_D Minor_Op. 40_MWV 011
  6. Finale Presto scherzando_No. 2_D Minor_Op. 40_MWV 011
  7. Rondo Brilliant_Op. 29
  8. Overture The Hebrides_Op. 26_Fingals Cave


Additional information


Residentie Orkest The Hague, Roberto Prosseda, Vriend, Jan Willem de


Late Romantic (1860 – 1920 A.D.)




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mendelssohn: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 | Rondo Brillant | Ouverture “Die Hebriden” (Download)”
SKU: decca4817207 Category: